Peak Warriors

(This is my #couch2kilimanjaro story. Follow along by chapter: Chapter 1Chapter 2, Chapter 3)

I don’t remember when I discovered the Peak Warrior support group on Facebook. I had never been a part of a “support group” before. I know people swear by the power of community, support and accountability… its why AA and WW are so successful. But those are “in person” support groups. How supportive could an online group really be?

 

Turns out pretty damn supportive.

During the late spring and into the summer of 2015, I wanted to jump off the #C25K program more than a few times. Running has never become fun or exhilarating to me. It’s just work. A lot of huffing, puffing work. And I don’t enjoy it. But it is a means to an end. I knew I couldn’t climb mountains without better lung capacity and cardio capacity.

So this completely random group of women online held me to it. I watched their own stories unfolding. Stories that both inspired me and pushed me to keep moving, one step at a time.

pwwords

When I wanted to skip a run, I saw Elise in Norway, faithfully putting on her warmest coat and headlamp and walking in the frigid cold and dark above the Arctic circle. My god. If she can do that, I can get my butt out the door for my 25 minute workout in mild Mid-Atlantic temps.

When I wanted to just sleep in or nap during the afternoon slump, there was Tess faithfully changing her whole life, 90lbs down and counting. No short cuts. Just good old fashioned exercise and healthy diet choices. What an inspiration.

This was no quick fix. This had to be a lifestyle change for me…. Working in exercise and activity into every week of my life, if not every day.

Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 11.37.22 AM

The Peak Warriors now have a wonderful new blogsite… Please, please consider following and joining us on Facebook if you are in need of a little motivation, inspiration and accountability for your journey. I credit this amazing group for helping that April 1, 2015 decision to get off the couch to become an actual LIFE CHANGE event 10 months later. 

3 thoughts on “Peak Warriors

  1. Pingback: Grandfather Mountain, North Carolina – #couch2kilimanjaro

  2. Pingback: Color Vibe – a #C25K success story – #couch2kilimanjaro

  3. Pingback: Want to climb Kilimanjaro? With your camera? For women? – #couch2kilimanjaro

Leave a Reply

