Couch to Kilimanjaro – literally

March 4, 2015 – Location: Maryland, USA.

I am completely sedentary, stuck to my couch. I am depressed, battling a variety of respiratory ailments (asthma, allergies, sinus et all) and generally in a dark and unhealthy place.

March 4, 2016 – Location: Mt. Kilimanjaro National Park, Tanzania, AFRICA

I will have my teal Kelty daypack on, camera bag strapped to my front (to offset the weight on my back), hiking poles at the ready. My Asolo boots will have been mostly broken in (I hope), and I am guessing my stomach will be a mess of nerves, ranging from “omgomg this is so exciting, let’s GO already” to “OMGOMG do you SEE that freaking enormous mountain?! what have I gotten myself into?” This is day 1 of our 5 day trek up the infamous Mt. Kilimanjaro, the tallest freestanding mountain in the world.

 

So, how did this approaching-middle-age, suburban, American mother of 3 go from a couch potato to a mountain climber in the span of a year?

Short answer: Great question.

Long answer: Well, it all started with Diana Gabaldon’s book, Outlander…..

Stay tuned….

6 thoughts on “Couch to Kilimanjaro – literally

  1. Pingback: Yes, Outlander. – #couch2kilimanjaro

  2. Pingback: The Munros are calling and I must go…. – #couch2kilimanjaro

  3. Pingback: Peak Warriors – #couch2kilimanjaro

  4. Pingback: Grandfather Mountain, North Carolina – #couch2kilimanjaro

  5. Pingback: Color Vibe – a #C25K success story – #couch2kilimanjaro

  6. Pingback: Want to climb Kilimanjaro? With your camera? For women? – #couch2kilimanjaro

Leave a Reply

